GERMAN VERSION    
zur Startseite
FILMCREDITSTEAMPICSTRAILERCONTACTFACTSLINKS

Genetic engineering in agriculture
Superfluity and starvation
Industrialisation and agriculture
Subsidised injustice
The long road from the field to the table
Additional Reading


"We have to get used to the idea that there are no longer any
GM-free foods.
"

Karl Otrok, Director of production, Pioneer Romania

Austria is considered to be largely free from genetic engineering: up to now, no transgenic organisms have been released into the environment, and Austrian supermarkets stock practically no products that are labelled as containing genetically modified constituents. However, genetic engineering has sneaked into Austrian agriculture through the back door in the form of animal feedstuffs.

Domestic production of feedstuff is insufficient to cover the protein requirements of the Austrian livestock industry. Austria imports around 550,000 tonnes of soya annually, of which according to Greenpeace around 60% is genetically modified. Although the law has required these feedstuffs to be labelled as such since 2004, there is no obligation to label secondary products such as meat, eggs or milk produced from animals which have consumed these feedstuffs.

Hardly any tests have been carried out to establish what effect this might have on animal or human organisms. What is obvious however is that wide-scale cultivation of genetically modified soya in countries such as Argentina is having huge negative impacts: use of crop sprays has risen drastically, forests are being felled and the nutritional situation of the inhabitants has by and large deteriorated dramatically.

Worldwide, genetically modified plants are being grown on more than 60 million hectares, 99% of them in Canada, Argentina, China and the USA. They consist mainly of soya (58%), maize (23%), cotton (12%) and rape (7%).

Within the EU there is a growing movement of consumers – including farmers – who are against the release into the environment of transgenic organisms and GM foods. In response to this, the EU announced a moratorium – in the face of strong opposition from the World Trade Organisation – on the import of genetically modified seed, effective until 2004. Since then EU law has required all foods containing GM constituents to be labelled. And since then genetic engineering has been increasingly infiltrating agriculture in Central and Eastern Europe, particularly in admission states such as Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia.

LINKS:
www.greenpeace.at
www.global2000.at
www.umweltbundesamt.at
www.foeeurope.org

 
Imprint filmstransiallegrofilmFILMLaden

ENGLISH VERSION SCHULVORSTELLUNG  
zur Startseite
FILMCREDITSTEAMPICSTRAILERCONTACTFACTSLINKS

Gentechnick in der Landwirtschaft
Leben im Überfluss und Hunger in der Welt
Industrialisierung der Landwirtschaft
Subventionierte Ungerechtigkeit
Der lange Weg vom Feld zum Teller
Literatur


"Wir sollten uns damit anfreunden, dass es eigentlich keine Lebensmittel mehr gibt, die gentechnisch frei sind."
Karl Otrok, Produktionsdirektor Pioneer Rumänien

Österreich gilt noch als weitgehend frei von Gentechnik, bislang wurden bei uns noch keine genmanipulierten Lebewesen freigesetzt und auch in den Supermärkten werden praktisch keine Lebensmittel angeboten, die als "genetisch verändert" gekennzeichnet sind. Doch die Gentechnik schleicht sich in Form von Tierfutter durch die Hintertür in die österreichische Landwirtschaft ein:

Unsere Futterpflanzen reichen nicht aus, um vor allem den Eiweißbedarf für unsere Viehwirtschaft zu decken. Dafür werden jährlich rund 550.000 Tonnen Soja importiert, davon sind nach Angaben von Greenpeace rund 60% genmanipuliert. Seit 2004 müssen zwar diese Futtermittel gekennzeichnet sein - für Produkte wie Fleisch, Eier oder Milch, die damit hergestellt wurden, gilt aber keine Kennzeichnungspflicht.

Dabei ist noch kaum geprüft, welche Auswirkungen das auf tierische Organismen oder den Menschen haben kann. Klar ist aber, dass der massive Anbau von gentechnisch verändertem Soja negative Folgen in Anbauländern wie Argentinien zeigt: der Spritzmittelverbrauch ist dort drastisch gestiegen, Wälder werden gerodet und die Ernährungssituation für die Bevölkerung hat sich großteils dramatisch verschlechtert.

Weltweit werden mehr als 60 Millionen Hektar Land mit gentechnisch manipulierten Pflanzen bestellt, 99% davon in Kanada, Argentinien, China und den USA. Die Hauptpflanzen sind Soja (58%), Mais (23%), Baumwolle (12%) und Raps (7%).

In der EU gibt es seitens der KonsumentInnen aber auch der Bauernschaft eine wachsende Bewegung gegen die Freisetzung von gentechnisch veränderte Organismen und gegen Genfood.. Die EU hatte deswegen bis 2004 ein von der Welthandelsorganisation WTO heftig bekämpftes Moratorium gegen den Import von gentechnisch verändertem Saatgut ausgesprochen. Seither gilt eine Kennzeichnungspflicht für gentechnisch veränderte Lebensmittel. Und seither dringt die Gentechnik zunehmend auch in die Landwirtschaft Zentral- und Osteuropas vor, insbesondere in die Bewerberländer Bulgarien, Rumänien und Kroatien.

QUELLEN UND WEITERFÜHRENDE LINKS:
www.greenpeace.at
www.global2000.at
www.umweltbundesamt.at
www.foeeurope.org

 
Impressum allegrofilmFILMLaden